Andy noted that the call for nominations went out earlier than usual this year and encouraged self-

11. Election of Erin Darby to the chair of the DEI Committee (Sharon Herbert)

Emily Bonney moved, Joe Seger seconded.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Executive Committee accepts the recommendation of the President and Vice President, as chair of the CCC, that Erin Darby be appointed as the inaugural chair of the DEI committee for a 3-year term (Nov 21, 2021-Dec 31, 2024). The EC further recommends that the Board adopt this recommendation and elect Erin Darby as chair of the DEI Committee for the dates given above.

Unanimously approved.

We took a short break

Discussion and Information Items

Sharon, as president, has the power to put together ad hoc committees

12. Ad hoc Committee on Climate Impact (Sharon Herbert)

This ad hoc committee comes out of the goal articulated in the strategic plan to have the Annual Meeting be carbon neutral by 2025 and to investigate other areas where ASOR can cut its carbon footprint (for example, fieldwork and publications).

The co-chairs will be Virginia Herrmann and Andy Vaughn. Other members are posted on the ASOR website.

The committee will present an interim report to the Board by the spring 2022 meeting and a final report by November 2022.

Susan noted that in addition to seeking info and input from the Program Committee, Membership Committee should also be consulted.

Discussion followed about what does it mean to be carbon neutral (avoid travel/Virtual Annual Meeting? Offset fees?)

Jane noted that online conferences are not carbon neutral.

13. Ad hoc Committee on Archives (Sharon Herbert)

Sharon directed committee members to the submitted report. ASOR archives currently housed at Harvard must be relocated.

Harvard wants them out soon.

Susan Ackerman is the chair of the committee. Other members include Eric Meyers, Jason Ur, and Paul Flesher.

Currently, the committee is investigating potential locations for the archives.

Another issue for the committee is artifactual material in the archives (in the Nelson Glueck archives). Those materials will stay at Harvard, and the committee is working with Harvard on details related to that collection.

A question was asked about future archive-able content, such as current presidential papers. Sharon noted the charge to the committee is currently limited to the papers previously stored at Beacon St., but it could be expanded.

14. Formation of Search Committee for Chair of the Board (Sharon Herbert)

Sharon noted that Richard second term as Chairman of the Board will end Dec 31, 2022. According to our Bylaws, the current and past president consult and form a committee chaired by current president.

The committee consists of Susan Ackerman, Eric Meyers, Bob Mullins, Ann-Marie Knoblauch.

15. Future Annual Meetings (Andy Vaughn)

Andy noted that we have signed a contract for 2022 and 2025, and the terms are favorable. He is h

SBL will be in San Dieg 612 792sv12 0 612 792 reW*nBT/F2 10 Tf1 0 0 1 103.05 79.275 Tm0 g0 G[(S)-7(B)-7(L)6(

feasible and financially possible, that will govern ASOR's choice of an Annual Meeting location. Andy said that we need to gather more info from the membership and is inclined to move slowly booking contracts beyond 2026 , and Richard agreed.

The ASOR membership has shown they like meetings in Boston, so we are glad to have two meetings booked there (and the second one [2025] in a year when AAR/SBL is in Boston).

16. Organization of Break-out discussion groups for Board--Future of the Annual Meeting and Climate Efforts (Sharon Herbert, Andy Vaughn)

At the Sunday Board meeting there will be two break-out sessions, with small groups talking for 15 minutes on the future of the Annual Meeting, then reporting out, then fifteen minutes on Climate Efforts, then report out.

The meeting adjourned at 4:44 PM.