ASOR Chairs Coordinating Council November Meeting Minutes McCormick Board Room, Hilton, Chicago, IL Saturday November 20, 8:15-11:45

**Present**: Erin Darby, Helen Dixon, Tiffany Earley-Spadoni, Jane DeRose Evans, Sharon Herbert, Chuck Jones, Marta Ostovich, Allison Thomason, Lynn Welton

Absent: Teddy Burgh, Steve Falconer, Kevin McGeough

Call to Order

#### 1. Approval of October Minutes: Minutes approved

#### 2. Nomination of Chair for new standing DEI Committee

Chairs Nominating Committee brings the name of Erin Darby forward as the nominee for Chair of the new standing committee for DEI. The creation of the new committee is among the business of the EC and Board today and tomorrow. Erin has been invited to attend this meeting of the CCC. Chuck welcomed Erin.

# **3. Committee Reports (including the nomination or renewal of members of this committees)**

## H&A

Lynn reported on the awards presented during the Members Meeting. There was a good number of nominations for book awards this year (20 Wright, 20 Cross, and 11 Lapp).

Erin asked about an award for open access publishing. Lynn replied that Cross Award is open access. There was a discussion of how to acknowledge the value of open-access publications, and show universities the value of these contributions.

AHA/AIA statement on public history project. Possible peer-review committee for open-access publications. Does this process fall under COP?

There was discussion of adding awards.

Recognition for other types of service: mentorship, community engagement.

sending fewer hard copies, which makes evaluation more difficult for committee to evaluate. Physical copies are also a benefit of being on the committee.

There needs to be more publicity surrounding the awards.

Announce winners in advance of the awards ceremony so that friends/family can attend.

Erin asked about an announcement to institutional member schools if someone at their school wins.

Committee terms & members:

Mahri Leonard-Fleckman starting second term.

Lawson Younger is cycling off the committee, and a new text person is needed for the Cross Award. There was discussion of possible candidates.

P p**otest**ed

Tiffany made note of the ECS-DEI pulse survey, which is gathering data on how to make meetings more welcoming.

Tiffany shared some ECS concerns about the virtual meeting, one of which is leaving recordings up for 6 months. People can request their video be taken down. There was discussion of the reasons for taking down videos.

# COP

Chuck stated that while Kevin cannot be present in Chicago, he brings, on behalf of the Publications Committee, the names of Stephanie Budin for renewal of her term as *NEA* Editor, and Alex Joffe for a one year extension of his term as *ANE Today* Editor to accommodate a search for a successor. There was discussion of benefits of ANE Today as a teaching resource.

## The CCC recommends renewal for Stephanie Budin.

Sharon discussed the search for ANE Today editor and future direction of ANE Today.

## The CCC recommends appointment of Alex Joffe for one-year term.

## 4. Updates and Remarks by the President and Executive Director

Sharon reported on the new Ad Hoc Climate Impact Committee. The committee is meant to serve one year and its focus will be on the Annual Meeting. There is one member of the PC on the Climate Impact Committee (Helen).

Andy thanked everyone for being here.

## 5. Matters arising

Adjournment