ASOR Board of Trustees The Westin Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio, Texas November 20, 2004

PRESENT: Lawrence T. Geraty, President, PE. MacAllister, Chairman of the Board, Oded Borowski, Gary Arbino, Elizabeth Bloch-Smith, Mark W. Chavalas, Douglas Clark, Executive Director, Eric H. Cline for CAMP, David Detrich, Jennie Ebeling, Nan Frederick, James Hardin, Tim Harrison, Larry Herr for COP, Martha Sharp Joukowsky, Vice-President, Ann Killebrew, Melody Knowles, Oystein S. LaBianca, Burt MacDonald for CAP, Eric M. Meyers, Beth Alpert Nakhai, Austin Ritterspach, Martha Risser, David Rosenstein, B.W. Ruffner for Finance, Bruce Routledge, Tammi Schneider, Joe D. Seger, Lydie Shufro, James F. Strange, Secretary, Stuart Swiny, Bethany Walker, Randy Younker, Billie Jean Collins, Publications Office, Holly Andrews, Staff, Selma Omerefendic, Staff.

ABSENT: Dick Scheuer, Life Trustee, Sidnie White-Crawford.

VISITORS. Tom Davis, Director of CAARI, Sy Gitin Director of AIAR.

1. 4:00 pm: **CTO**—P.E. MacAllister

2. **Approval of the Minutes** of the May 1, 2004 Board of Trustees Meeting, J. Strange.

One Correction:

Additional facts that are known concerning the acquisition or appearance of the texts in the United States should also be included.

Eric Meyers added that the Committee needs to consider how to address the situation of marketing of illegal artifacts in Israel and the West Bank. It was added that we need to work with Canadian and U.S. authorities to change existing collection laws. There was a consensus that this committee will make its recommendations to CAP.

BE IT RESOLVED to establish the Implementation and Strategic Planning Committee consisting of Loren Basch, Rachel Hallote, Sten LaBianca, Carol Meyers, Eric Cline, Larry Herr, and Burt MacDonald, a graduate student, and Ex-Officio: Lawrence T. Geraty and Douglas Clark. Tammi Schneider moved, Randall Younker seconded. Tammi suggested that the graduate student come from an institutional membership. PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Doug presented as information only a sketch of the Development Director Search Committee: Possible Chair Vivian Bull, members TBA.

A new Development Committee is being appointed to work with the new Development Director. It will be chaired by David Rosenstein and Members are TBA (appointed by Chairman.). Ex-officio members would be Lawrence T. Geraty, Douglas Clark, Eric Cline, Larry Herr, and Burt MacDonald.

Doug reports we have accumulated pledges for about 3/4 of the funds required to support a Director of Development for two years.

BE IT RESOLVED that we begin the search for a Development Director as soon as possible after this meeting. Moved by David Rosenstein, seconded by Martha Joukowsky.

Discussion: Donors tend to donate at the end of the year, so we need someone in place as an

installed in the Boston Office. We have a new page on the website for online giving. There will be an ASOR-sponsored NEH institute for high school teachers housed at BU.

6. **AIAR.** Sy Gitin reports that things are going well with a full academic program. The Jerusalem Virtual Library sponsored unofficially by the Hebrew University and El Quds University has been completed. The new computer program has allowed final computerization of the Albright library catalog. The Leon Levy bequest will be used for library acquisition over the next three years. CAORC will help AIAR create electronic records of the card catalog. The three main Palestinian libraries have accepted the invitation to computerize their card catalogs. Three projects of special interest: (a) funding of two fellowships for Palestinian archaeologists to attend the Annual Meeting in Philadelphia is currently be arranged through ASOR. (b) The new two-year Kress Fellowship offers time at the Albright, then time at another institute the second year, and we hope ACOR and CAARI will be selected. (c) A third program is a director's exchange to lecture at the other sister institutions.

7. **ACOR.**

write-offs in the future. The results are that we project expenses to be about the same, but income projections are lower for the year.

Sten LaBianca asked that we commend the lay members of the Board who have stepped up to build our finances. The Board commended P.E. MacAllister, B.W. Ruffner, David Rosenstein, Austin Ritterspach, Nan Frederick, Ed Gilbert, and Lydie Shufro by acclamation.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board endorses the "Mission of the Investment Committee of ASOR" which was circulated. It was Moved and Seconded by the Investment Committee as recorded in the document: "The Overall Objective of the ASOR Investment Committee..."

Announcement: The next Board meeting will be 29-30 April 2005 in Boston.

14. Adjournment—P.E. MacAllister

Respectfully Submitted,

James F. Strange, Secretary

Addendum (added on January 10, 2005)

FY05 Budget Vote

Because a vote on the FY05 Budget was inadvertently overlooked at the Board Meeting, an electronic vote was formally taken via email and compiled at the end of December 2004.

Results - 25 Board members responded: 25 in favor / 0 opposed.