ASOR Board of Trustees Meeting Weston St. Francis Hotel San Francisco, CA 20 November 2011

PRESENT: Tim Harrison (President), Gary Arbino, Sheila Bishop, Bob Bull (Honorary Trustee), Jeff Chadwick, Jennie Ebeling (VP for Membership), Jane Evans, Ray Ewing (CAARI), Sheldon Fox (Treasurer), Lawrence T. Geraty, Joseph Greene, Jimmy Hardin, Charles E. Jones (VP for Publications), Morag Kersel, Sten LaBianca (Vice President for Archaeological Research and Policy), Carol Meyers, Eric Meyers (Past President), Robert Mullins, Beth Alpert Nakhai, Orlyn Nelson, Suzanne Richard, Joe Seger, Audrey Shaffer, Lawson Younger, Randy Younker, Rob Oden, Jr., Chris Rollston, Lydie Shufro (Honorary Trustee), Andy Vaughn (Executive Director), Ed Wright, AIAR, Lawson Younger, Christopher Rollston, Weston Fields.

ABSENT: P.E. MacAllister, Chairman, Susan Ackerman, Nili Fox, Barry Gittlen, Ann-Marie Knoblauch, B. W. Ruffner, Susan Sheridan, W. Mark Lanier

VISITORS: Vivian Bull, Barbara Porter (ACOR), Andrew McCarthy (CAARI), Stevan Dana (term begins Jan. 2012), Bob Massie (term begins Jan. 2012)

- 1. Call to Order by the President, Tim Harrison, 7:37 a.m. announced the absence of the Chairman of the Board, P.E. MacAllister, due to illness.
- 2. Approval of Minutes from the Spring meeting (April 30, 2011). Moved and seconded to approve. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.
- 3. Approval of Agenda. APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.
- 4. Memorial Moment

Nan Frederick Lois Glock Oleg Grabar Maurice Grolier Brian Hesse Fawwaz al-

Khraysheh

Ehud Netzer Alice Pickering Anson F. Rainey Elmo Scoggins Patty Seger Bob Wosniak

5. New Board Appointments. Tim Harrison pointed out that we have twelve Trustees who are Board elected, four each year who rotate every three years. For the Class of 2015, Joe Seger and Orlyn Nelson have agreed to serve another term. Two new Trustees include Steven Dana, retired businessman living in the Las Vegas region, and Bob Massie, a businessman living in Indianapolis.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board elect the proposed nominees: Joe Seger, Orlyn Nelson, Steven Dana, and Bob Massie. Moved by Tim Harrison; seconded by Gary Arbino. PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

6. Trustee Nominations Committee—Beth Alpert Nakhai.

Beth announced those persons elected to the board at the ASOR Membership meeting. Newly elected Individual Trustees for the Class of 2015: Laura Mazow and Beth Alpert Nakhai. Newly elected Institutional Trustees for the

- Class of 2015: Gary Arbino and Carol Meyers. Beth then asked for board approval of a new appointment to the Board Nominations Committee. BE IT RESOLVED that Lawson Younger be approved as a new member of the Board Nominations Committee. PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.
- 7. Officers Nominating Committee Report—Gary Arbino. Requests approval of an electronic vote for Treasurer if necessary. Gary asked for guidance on a statement of non-discrimination and suggested a possible statement. It was pointed out that ASOR already has such a statement / policy on its website and that statement should be used in any advertisements. The ONC will solicit nominations for Treasurer and Vice President to present to the board for a vote at the Spring 2012 meeting.
- 8. Report of Items approved by the Executive Committee—Andy Vaughn reports that nothing was approved by the EC that will not be discussed and/or voted on by the board..
- 9. Treasurer's Report—Sheldon Fox (distributed). The Treasurer walked the Board

\$250,000 to support online digital media resources. The Development committee has composed a two page Case Statement and a Timeline. In addition, the campaign will include \$100,000 for the annual fund in each of the three years. .

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Trustees supports the recommendation of the Development Committee to launch a \$1.3 million campaign, which includes \$300,000 for the Annual Fund over three years beginning July1, 2011. Rob adds that there will be a fund-raiser even in Chicago in 2012 and another in Indianapolis in 2013 to honor P.E. MacAllister. This is a motion and a second from the Finance Committee. PASSED UNANIMOUSLY (with everyone standing to signal their enthusiastic support of the campaign).

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board approves Rob Oden as Development Committee Chair. PASSED UNANIMOUSLY

11. Annual Meeting Venues—Tim Harrison explained that we made a decision in 2007 to continue to meet in the same vicinity as the AAR and SBL. It was further decided that we would manage our own meetings. Our numbers suggest that this was a good decision. This pattern should continue, but beginning in 2016 (San Antonio) we will not be able to secure large hotels in some downtown areas because AAR and SBL have booked all of the hotels. Andy Vaughn added that the Strategic Plan has identified the Annual Meeting as a key prou Tj ET Q4.(s.1 a) 0.2 Q4.(s.1 a) (

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board approves the appointment of Yorke Rowan, Tom Levy and Benjamin Saidel to the Editorial Board of *BASOR*. PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board approves the appointments of Geoff Emberling as Archaeology Editor of *JCS*, and Eckhart Frahm, and Nick Veldhuis to the *JCS* Board. PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board endorses the proposal of COP that *BASOR* move to a semiannual production as soon as feasible. There was discussion

- 17. AIAR Report--Ed Wright. The AIAR's five-year evaluation report has been completed. 325 fellowships were awarded over five years. The AIAR has held extensive activities that have involved both Palestinians and Israelis. Four hundred events filled the academic program over the past five years. In the future AIAR hopes to have simultaneous translations of AIAR lectures. IAA has asked AIAR to host a conference on archaeology in Mongolia. 700 maps of the AIAR Library will be scanned and made available to researchers. The Ecole Biblique is scanning glass plate photographs discovered in the attic. Publication of the *Pottery of ancient Israel and its Neighbors* is scheduled for 2013.
- 18. CAARI Report (Ray Ewing). The Memorandum of Understanding concerning cultural property that guides bilateral relations between the USA and Cyprus is being considered for renewal. CAARI's Board has voted in support of its renewal. CAARI is moving ahead with the library expansion project. The most important change is that Andrew McCarthy has replaced Tom Davis as director. CAARI continues to lend support to all kinds of archaeological activities. McCarthy continues to excavate a multi-period site on Cyprus. He has also co-organized a workshop with the Dept of Antiquities on the traffic in illegal antiquities. The Proceedings of the workshop will be published.
- 19. Executive Director's report